Comparison of State and Federal Hazardous Waste Rules
General Summary (find a description of Federal Rules here).
Georgia generally follows the federal rules for hazardous waste management and also has more stringent state requirements.
1. Do I need an EPA ID number to handle hazardous wastes
2. How do I determine my generator status?
Georgia follows the federal rules for defining generator status. Hazardous waste generators must file a notification of hazardous waste activity with the DNR within 30 days after commencing the generation of hazardous waste.
3. How can I tell if the waste materials I handle are considered
Georgia follows the federal rules for defining hazardous wastes.
4. How long can I store hazardous wastes on site?
Georgia follows the federal rules for storing hazardous wastes.
5. Who can transport and receive the wastes I ship off site?
Georgia follows the federal rules for shipping hazardous wastes to a TSD.
6. What records do I have to keep?
Georgia follows the federal rules for recordkeeping.LQG hazardous waste management fee reports kept on file for at least three years.
7. Do I have to file reports?
Georgia follows the federal rules for reporting. LQGs must keep hazardous waste management fee records of the total amount, in tons, of hazardous waste managed on-site or shipped off-site during the calendar year. This must be submitted to the DNE annually.
8. What training requirements do I have to meet?
Georgia follows the federal rules for training.
9. What differences between states may exist with regard to use of the the new standardized manifest form?
As of September 5, 2006, the new standardized manifest form (EPA Form 8700-22) and its continuation sheet (EPA Form 8700-22A) must be used in every state to track hazardous waste shipments. There will be no state variations of the new federal form and states may not require information to be included on the form that is in addition to that required by federal rules. That said, some differences between states may exist with regard to use of the form. For Georgia these differences include:
Georgia does not have any state specific waste codes.
Georgia does not require copies of manifests be submitted to the state regardless of whether the waste originates or is disposed of in the state.
Other Notes, Comments:: None.
10. What are some other differences between federal and state
SQGs and LQGs must pay an annual waste management fee. LQGs that manage their own hazardous waste on-site must pay additional fees. CESQGs are exempt.Generators must pay an annual hazardous substance-reporting fee if they are required to report in accordance with Section 312 or Section 313 of Title II of the federal Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act of 1986.LQGs must submit and implement a waste reduction plan and report on the progress of their waste minimization efforts every 2 years. LQGs must pay a hazardous waste storage fee of $16 per ton of hazardous waste shipped off-site for storage, with a limit of $75,000 annually. LQGs must also pay $4 per ton for hazardous waste stored on-site, with an annual limit cap of $75,000.
- Mark Smith, Branch Chief, Hazardous Waste Branch, (404) 656-7802
- Freddie Dunn, Jr., Unit Manager, Hazardous Waste Compliance Unit, (404) 657-8831