Comparison of State and Federal Hazardous Waste Rules
General Summary (find a description of Federal Rules here).
Louisiana follows the federal rules for hazardous waste management and also has more stringent state requirements.
1. Do I need an EPA ID number to handle hazardous wastes
In Louisiana, you submit a copy of the New Uniform Hazardous Waste Manifest Notice to obtain an EPA ID Number. Initial notifications to obtain an EPA ID Number, or subsequent notifications due to change ofownership, are required to submit the Registration Fee Invoice with a payment (check or money order) in the amount of $12.50. Submit the completed form to:Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality,Office of Environmental Services,Environmental Assistance DivisionCompliance Assistance Section,PO Box 4313,Baton Rouge, LA 70821-4313. If you have questions, call (225) 219-3245.
2. How do I determine my generator status?
Louisiana follows the federal rules for defining generator status.
3. How can I tell if the waste materials I handle are considered
Louisiana follows the federal rules for defining hazardous wastes.Louisiana calls Listed wastes "category I wastes," and call Characteristic wastes "category II wastes.
4. How long can I store hazardous wastes on site?
Louisiana follows the federal rules for storing hazardous wastes.Permitted storage facilities that use containers to store hazardous waste must comply with the additional state rules on stacking. Surface impoundments used to store hazardous waste must be constructed/operated in accordance with state construction and operating standards. Storage facilities must pay permit application and yearly maintenance fees.SQGs must notify the DEQ in the event of a fire, explosion, or other release within 24 hours.
5. Who can transport and receive the wastes I ship off site?
Louisiana follows the federal rules for shipping hazardous wastes to a TSD.Transporters must meet additional state requirements in regard to financial responsibility, emergency preparedness and shipping wastes. Transporters must register with the DEQ and meet vehicle requirements.
6. What records do I have to keep?
Louisiana follows the federal rules for recordkeeping.Generators must file an annual report and keep on file for three years.
7. Do I have to file reports?
Louisiana follows the federal rules for reporting. Generators must file an annual report and keep on file for three years.
8. What training requirements do I have to meet?
Louisiana generally follows the federal rules for training.Generators must TSDF training.
9. What differences between states may exist with regard to use of the the new standardized manifest form?
As of September 5, 2006, the new standardized manifest form (EPA Form 8700-22) and its continuation sheet (EPA Form 8700-22A) must be used in every state to track hazardous waste shipments. There will be no state variations of the new federal form and states may not require information to be included on the form that is in addition to that required by federal rules. That said, some differences between states may exist with regard to use of the form. For Louisiana these differences include:
A special state manifest is required for used oil transport.
Generators must obtain written confirmation of the acceptability of the hazardous waste from the TSDF operator before shipping hazardous waste, and maintain the confirmation as part of the facility manifest records.
Other Notes, Comments::
The generator is responsible for receiving the completed, signed manifest from the out-of-state hazardous waste facility.
10. What are some other differences between federal and state
No contact information available