Comparison of State and Federal Hazardous Waste Rules
General Summary (find a description of Federal Rules here).
North Carolina follows the federal rules for hazardous waste management and also has more stringent state requirements.
1. Do I need an EPA ID number to handle hazardous wastes
in North Carolina?
In North Carolina, use the EPA Form 8700-12: Notification of Regulated Waste Activity Forms and Instructions, to determine if you are subject to the requirements under the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA) for notifying the State of North Carolina of your regulated waste activities. Send your completed form(s) to the designated contact listed in the instructions. For further information and instructions, view the North Carolina permit information web page.
2. How do I determine my generator status?
North Carolina follows the federal rules for defining generator status.
3. How can I tell if the waste materials I handle are considered
North Carolina follows the federal rules for defining hazardous wastes.
4. How long can I store hazardous wastes on site?
North Carolina follows the federal rules for storing hazardous wastes.North Carolina has additional design standards for surface impoundments All hazardous waste storage facilities must comply with stringent TSDF standards. Long-term storage facilities must comply with the state's hazardous waste landfill requirements.Generators and hazardous waste storage facility owners and operators that accumulate hazardous waste on-site must pay fees to DENR.
5. Who can transport and receive the wastes I ship off site?
North Carolina follows the federal rules for shipping hazardous wastes to a TSD.
6. What records do I have to keep?
North Carolina follows the federal rules for recordkeeping.Generators must keep unit inspection records and results that are used to accumulate hazardous waste for at least three years from the date of the inspection.
7. Do I have to file reports?
North Carolina follows the federal rules for reporting.
8. What training requirements do I have to meet?
North Carolina follows the federal rules for training.
9. What differences between states may exist with regard to use of the the new standardized manifest form?
As of September 5, 2006, the new standardized manifest form (EPA Form 8700-22) and its continuation sheet (EPA Form 8700-22A) must be used in every state to track hazardous waste shipments. There will be no state variations of the new federal form and states may not require information to be included on the form that is in addition to that required by federal rules. That said, some differences between states may exist with regard to use of the form. For North Carolina these differences include:
The State of North Carolina does not have state specific waste codes.
The State of North Carolina does not require the submission of manifest copies.
Other Notes, Comments::
Transporters who discover a significant manifest discrepancy, must try to reconcile the discrepancy with the hazardous waste generator.
10. What are some other differences between federal and state
Hazardous waste generators pay annual fees. LQGs must pay an annual base fee of $1,000, and pay additional annual fees based on tons generated in a year. SQG's must pay an annual fee of $125. CESQG's do not have to pay fees.Each year, LQGs and SQG's must file a waste minimization report at the time they pay their annual generator fee.