Comparison of State and Federal Hazardous Waste Rules
General Summary (find a description of Federal Rules here).
Oklahoma follows the federal rules for hazardous waste management and also has more stringent state requirements.
1. Do I need an EPA ID number to handle hazardous wastes
2. How do I determine my generator status?
Oklahoma follows the federal rules for defining generator status.
3. How can I tell if the waste materials I handle are considered
Oklahoma follows the federal rules for defining hazardous wastes.
4. How long can I store hazardous wastes on site?
Oklahoma follows the federal rules for storing hazardous wastes.Storage facilities must pay fees for permit applications and annual monitoring.
5. Who can transport and receive the wastes I ship off site?
Oklahoma follows the federal rules for shipping hazardous wastes to a TSD.Transporters must comply with additional state requirements for mixing of waste; incidents; and releases.
6. What records do I have to keep?
Oklahoma follows the federal rules for recordkeeping.
7. Do I have to file reports?
Oklahoma generally follows the federal rules for reporting. Generators must submit quarterly reports.Underground storage tanks have more stringent reporting requirements.
8. What training requirements do I have to meet?
Oklahoma follows the federal rules for training.
9. What differences between states may exist with regard to use of the the new standardized manifest form?
As of September 5, 2006, the new standardized manifest form (EPA Form 8700-22) and its continuation sheet (EPA Form 8700-22A) must be used in every state to track hazardous waste shipments. There will be no state variations of the new federal form and states may not require information to be included on the form that is in addition to that required by federal rules. That said, some differences between states may exist with regard to use of the form. For Oklahoma these differences include:
Oklahoma does not have any state specific waste codes.
Oklahoma does not require copies of manifests be submitted to it regardless of whether the waste originates or is disposed of in the state. The only exceptions are when the shipment is an international shipment or the DEQ is the generator of the waste.
Other Notes, Comments::
LQGs must include their disposal plan number on the manifest.
10. What are some other differences between federal and state
Generator facilities must be located, constructed, maintained, operated, and closed in a manner so as to prevent any endangerment of the public health and safety and any degradation of the environment.LQGs must submit a quarterly report that details the total amount of hazardous waste generated per calendar quarter.LQGs must file a disposal plan and get DEQ approval prior to offering hazardous waste for transport.LQGs must include the disposal plan number on the manifest before offering hazardous waste for shipment. At least quarterly, LQG's must submit copies of manifests signed by receiving facilities located outside of the United States to the DEQ.LQGs must pay an annual $100 disposal plan fee.LQGs must pay an annual fee of $100, and SQG's $25, for monitoring and periodic inspection of their facility by the DEQ.Generators with a TSDF permit must pay an annual fee on the amount of hazardous waste managed.